
 

 

 
April 29, 2024 

NFHS Softball Weekly Rule Interpretations  
 
Situation 1: Team A has a lineup that has #2, the 4th batter in the lineup, listed as the pitcher and #5, the 
3rd batter in the lineup, listed as the catcher. In the first inning, #2 does not get on base but #5 does get 
on base and utilizes #13, an eligible sub, as a courtesy runner. Prior to their team taking the field Team 
A’s coach informs the plate umpire that #1 listed in the 6th spot in the lineup will be their pitcher and #2 
will play first base. The umpire does not allow this change stating that #2 must face the first batter (at 
least one pitch) in the bottom of the first inning. RULING: Incorrect ruling. Other than recording 
statistics, the identification of the pitcher and catcher are only important in regards to who is capable of 
utilizing a courtesy runner. Since the pitcher did not utilized a courtesy runner in the top of the first 
inning, they are not required to face the first batter in the bottom of the first inning. Since the catcher 
did utilize a courtesy runner in the top of the first inning, they are required to face the first batter (one 
pitch) in the bottom of the first inning. (8-9-2) 
 
Situation 2: Team A is at bat with R1 on second base and no outs, B2 hits a deep base hit toward right 
center field. As R1 is rounding third and heading home, F2 is setting up for a play at the plate. When the 
runner is approaching home, F2 is moving to catch the thrown ball and make a play on the runner. The 
umpire rules obstruction on F2 as they blocked the plate prior to gaining possession of the ball. Team B’s 
coach objects to this call stating that the runner was not impeded by F2’s actions prior to them having 
possession of the ball and ruling obstruction simply because F2 was blocking the plate is a 
misinterpretation of the NFHS Softball obstruction rule. RULING: Incorrect wording and possibly an 
incorrect ruling by the umpire. NFHS Softball rules are straightforward when it comes to obstruction. If a 
fielder impedes the progress of a runner or batter-runner who is legally running the bases without 
possession of the ball or not making the initial play on a batted ball they are guilty of obstruction. Where 
the gray area enters these situations is “impedes the progress of a runner or batter-runner…” Whether 
the runner was impeded or not is a decision made by the umpire and is based solely on their judgement 
of the play. One definition of impede is to delay or prevent progress or movement. When we apply that 
definition to a softball play in order to be guilty of obstruction the runner has to be delayed or 
prevented from progressing along their path of running the bases. Can blocking the base/plate result in 
a player being impeded? Yes, but simply blocking the base/plate does not automatically result in the 
runner being impeded and obstruction being ruled. If a fielder is blocking a base or home plate and the 
runner is so far away from the base that they would not be able to touch it without the fielder blocking 
it then the runner was not impeded simply because the fielder blocked the base since they were not 
prevented from touching the base. However, if the runner reacted to the fielder blocking the base and 
altered their path or travel in some way (slowed down, stutter stepped, changed direction to avoid the 
fielder, etc.), then they were impeded (delayed in progressing) and obstruction should be ruled. Another 
possibility, if the runner is close enough to touch the base or plate and the fielders positioning without 
possession of the ball prevents or delays them from touching it by requiring them to change their 
approach to be able to touch the base or plate then they were impeded, and obstruction should be 
ruled. So does blocking the base or plate put the umpire on high alert? It should, but it is not by rule 



 

 

obstruction until the runner is impeded. Again by the definition above delayed or prevented from 
progressing along their path.  
 
Communications with a coach is a part of game management and it is much easier to manage a game 
when comments and discussions with a coach about a play or ruling focus on rule based statements. 
“Coach, in my judgement the runner was impeded by the fielder prior to gaining possession of the ball, 
that is obstruction. In my judgement the runner would have obtained home without the obstruction so 
the runner is awarded home.” Again keeping the wording in line with that utilized in the obstruction rule 
keeps the conversation focused and ensures the rule was properly adjudicated and the ruling efficiently 
communicated to the participants. Will coaches always agree with the ruling? No, but if the ruling is 
properly communicated in a means that is in line with the rules governing the play they will better 
understand the ruling and will have to accept the umpires judgement as it was made and communicated 
in accordance with the rules of the game. (2-35, 8-4-3b) 
 
This same approach should also be taken when dealing with interference. As with obstruction, the 
interference rule is simply worded, but the enforcement also deals with a large amount of umpire 
judgement of the actions during the play. Interference is an act by the offense, typically, that hinders 
impedes or confuses a fielder. There are many forms of interference and each have their own nuances 
based on the specific rule (initial play, passed a fielder and another has a chance for an out, deflected 
ball, etc.) but the same type of judgement based rulings apply to interference. As with the discussion 
above about obstruction, umpires judge the play and have to determine if the fielder was hindered, 
impeded or confused by the actions of the offensive player in a way that violates a rule. When dealing 
with these plays and the communications with coaches about them umpires should remain focused on 
the specifics of the rules governing the play and communicate the ruling base on those rules. “Coach, 
yes the ball hit the runner’s foot while they were off the base, but it was not interference as the ball had 
already passed an infielder and no other fielder had a chance to make an out.” (2-31, 8-6-11, 8-8-4) 


