
 

 

 
May 28, 2024 

NFHS Softball Weekly Rule Interpretations  
 
Situation 1: In the third inning, Team A is at bat with R1 on second base and B2 up to bat with no outs. 
B2 hits a ball to the second base side of F6 who stops and then alters their path to the ball to avoid 
contact with R1 who is heading to third base on the hit. F6 then fields the ball and throws B2 out at first 
base. Team B’s coach asks the umpires why that was not interference on R1 as F6 was clearly hindered 
or impeded by having to move around R1. The umpire states that since F6 was able to continue and get 
B2 out there was no interference. RULING: Incorrect ruling. Interference is an immediate dead ball when 
it occurs. When there is an interaction with a runner and a fielder making an initial play on the batted 
ball the umpire must judge if the fielder was hindered, impeded or confused by the runner at that point. 
If the umpire judges the runner was guilty of interference then the ball is dead at that point so no 
further action is considered for the ruling on that play. Allowing the play to continue and using the 
results of the play to determine interference is not the correct procedure for NFHS Softball. The 
determination for interference is made based off the interaction between the fielder and the runner and 
is either a dead ball at that point and the runner is out or there was no interference and the play is 
allowed to continue, as there was no violation. (2-31, 8-6-10)  
 
Situation 2: With R1 on second base and no outs, B2 hits a hard ground ball that bounces off F5 and 
deflects toward F6. As F6 is going for the ball, it contacts R1 who is attempting to avoid the ball. The 
umpire rules that since the ball is still within a step and a reach of the initial point of contact with F5 that 
F6 is still making the initial play on the ball and rules R1 out. RULING: Incorrect ruling. Since the ball is 
deflected by F5, F6 is not considered to be making the initial play on the batted ball. Since the ball was 
deflected by F5, R1 would have to intentionally make contact with the deflected ball to be guilty of 
interfering with F6. (2-46-3, 8-6-10a, 8-6-12, 8-8-6) 
 
Situation 3: With no outs and R1 on second base, B2 hits a ground ball to F6. F6 fields the ball and 
makes an errant throw toward F3 that sails past first base. R1 seeing the over throw touches third base 
and continues toward home. B2 is tripped by F3 as they are rounding first base and ends up on the 
ground between first and second base. F9 who was backing up the throw retrieves the ball throwing it 
to F4 who tags B2, still trying to get untangled from F3, out with R1 one step from home when the out is 
made. The umpire rules a dead ball since the obstructed runner was put out and awards B2 first base 
since they were not half way to second with the obstruction had occurred. They also return R1 to third 
base since they had not touched home prior to the obstructed runner being put out. Ruling: Incorrect 
ruling. The umpire was correct to call a dead ball when the obstructed runner was put out between the 
two bases where they were obstructed. However, the basis for their award not correct. The umpire 
should award the obstructed runner the base they would have reached in the umpires judgement had 
there been no obstruction. In this case, it most likely would have been first or second base depending on 
umpire judgement but should not be based on how far the runner had advanced prior to the 
obstruction. Awards for obstruction are intended to remove the amount the runner was impeded by the 
defense, if they were just slightly impeded and they would not have advanced farther than first base 
then the umpire should award them first base. If the runner was speedy and the act of being tripped and 



 

 

ending up delayed for a much longer time the umpire could easily judge that the runner would have 
obtained second base had the obstruction not occurred. Again, the umpire should make a judgement of 
the base the runner would have reached had there not been obstruction when that obstruction occurs 
and “protect” that runner until they reach that base, or if they do not reach that base award them that 
base when playing action has ended. In addition, the umpire should award each other runner affected 
by the obstruction the base or bases they would have achieved had there been no obstruction. In this 
case, R1 who was one-step from home plate would have reached home plate had the umpire not had to 
call a dead ball to enforce the obstruction penalty. So it is safe to judge that R1 would have obtained 
home plate had there been no obstruction and they should be awarded home on this play.  (8-4-3b, 
Penalties 1 and 3) 


