NHIAA Awards

The following are various awards that are given each year by the NHIAA. Congratulations to each of this year's winners!

Walter Smith Award

The NHIAA Walter A. Smith Award: Given annually to an individual who has overcome special circumstances and contributed significantly and positively to Interscholastic Athletics.

The 2019-20 recipients are Shawn Marston of Laconia High School and Jacob Wilson of Milford High School. Congratulations!

James W. Desmarais Service Award

James W. Desmarais Service Award: Instituted in 1970 and renamed for former longtime NHIAA Executive Director, James Desmarais, this award is given to recognize meritorious service to the NHIAA.  There have been 63 dedicated individuals recognized for this honor since 1970.

This year's dedicated and capable nominee certainly meets the criteria of the award and matches the contributions of the former inductees.  

The 2019-20 recipient is Bruce Parsons of Plymouth High School. Congratulations!

Carol Dozibrin Advancement of Girls Sports Award

The Carol Dozibrin Advancement of Girls Sports Award Program: First given out in 1996, this award recognizes an individual who has contributed to the development of girls' athletics at the high school level. 

The NHIAA Awards Committee is pleased to have selected Patricia Connolly as the 2019-2020 recipient. Congratulations!


Anthony "Tony" Urban Award 

(be sure to download/save this form to your computer prior to filling it out)

Anthony "Tony" Urban Award: Established in 2019, the Anthony "Tony" Urban Award is given for meritorious service to an "unsung hero" who embodies the ideals of the NHIAA in service to the NH student-athletes and in support of the best opportunities for the student-athlete to compete under and within. In memory of Anthony "Tony" Urban and all that he was. 

The NHIAA Awards Committee is pleased to have selected George "Buddy" Trask as the first recipient of the Anthony "Tony" Urban Award. Congratulations!

NHIAA Hall of Fame Award

The 2019 NHIAA Hall of Fame Inductees are:

Fred Bailey, Groveton (Administrator)

John Bosa, Keene (Athlete)

Mark Collins, Groveton (Coach)

Rick Forge, Gilford (Contributor)

Donna Martineau, Rochester (Official)

Red Rolfe, Penacook (Athlete)

Dennis "Bucky" Tardif, Timberlane (Administrator)